Political Thought and Historical Imagination

CSPT Annual Conference
March 1-2, 2013
Luce Auditorium, Yale University

The historical imagination – how we understand history and place ourselves in relation to it – cannot help but shape and be shaped by the theoretical imagination – how we understand politics and its problems. This conference explores the ways in which our imagination of history influences the theoretical questions we ask, and the ways in which our political theories lead us to retell stories about the past.


Roman History and 18th Century Political Thought
Reinterpreting the French Revolution
Haiti: Theoretical Implications of Slavery and Emancipation
Thinking with History
History as Political Theory: Foundings, Inheritance and Critique
Narrative and Genre in Political Theory
Beyond World History: Political Trajectories Outside the West


J. G. A. Pocock, Keith Baker, Robin Blackburn, Richard Bourke, David Bromwich, James Ceaser, John Dunn, Sibylle Fischer, Jason Frank, Bryan Garsten, Patrice Gueniffey, Karuna Mantena, Kirstie McClure, Iain McDaniel, Michael Mosher, Paulina Ochoa Espejo, Steven Pincus, Alan Ryan, Andrew Sabl, Ian Shapiro, Rogers Smith, Steven Smith, Brandon Terry, Shatema Threadcraft, Adam Tooze, Richard Tuck, and Elizabeth Wingrove.